Edward Albee’s ‘Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf?’ opened on Broadway on October 13, 1962. That same month the United States was battling the Soviet Union over the presence of nuclear weapons in Cuba during the Cuban Missile Crisis. The nation hardly needed more strife. Still, it welcomed the play about a married couple who apparently, as the play unfolded, regretted their wedded union. Lead characters George and Martha (named for the nation’s first first family) live near an Ivy League school where George is a professor. As the scenes progress, each revealed acrimonious character traits not usually seen in public and which shocked theater critics. In 1966 Hollywood released a film version starring Richard Burton and Elizabeth Taylor. They were ironically a real-life married couple playing a married couple. One resource said Burton refused to play the part of a husband apparently intent on torturing his wife. He was afraid it would destroy his marriage to Taylor. But when Taylor tried to convince him he should play George, Burton accepted the part. All of the film's actors were nominated for Academy Awards. Taylor won the Oscar for Best Actress and Sandy Dennis won for Best Supporting Actress. Burton was nominated for Best Actor, but lost to Paul Scofield for A Man for All Seasons. The film also won for Best Cinematography, Best Art Direction, and Best Costume Design. The Fort Wayne rendition is sure to be a winner with two of the city’s best actors in key roles. John O'Connell, IPFW Theatre Chair, will direct FPT Director Thom Hofrichter as George. It’s sure to be a tightly-woven drama with unforgettable scenes. Rated R for adult content. First Presbyterian Theater 300 West Wayne Street Advance sale tickets are $20 / $18 seniors (65+) Door sales are $24 / $22 (65+) / $10 full time students Thursday preview tickets are $10 Insider tip: The first 30 full time students free with reservations For additional information, please visit the First Presbyterian website. Show dates: May 3-5, 11, 12, 18, 19 -- 7:30 pm and Sunday, May 20 -- 2:00 pm